Google and Jesus

Google

Sorry–I meant Google and Chavez.  What was I thinking?  Google would not put a notification on their search engine that mentioned Jesus Christ–even on Easter.

I know I shouldn’t be surprised.  I guess I expected something Easter-related, probably a bunny and some eggs.  That would have–at the least–acknowledged that yesterday was somewhat unique.  Instead, Google choose to put a likeness of Chavez above the search bar, mentioning the fact that this would have been his 85th birthday.

Please don’t read in this that I am anti-Chavez or anti-Hispanic.  I am not.  I am, however, pro-Jesus.  And while I should not expect to have my exclusivistic faith endorsed by my inclusivistic culture, I am–from time-to-time–reminded afresh that this world is opposed to God.

Every year less and less people gather in America’s local churches to celebrate the resurrection of Christ. Fewer and fewer people live in such a way that proves the reality of life, death, burial and resurrection of Jesus.  In time, our society will resemble that of Europe–a continent best described as void of light with Christians as rare to find as a pregnant virgins in Galilee.

Are you prepared for this?  Am I?

Google consciously took us a step in that direction this Easter.  Others will follow suit.  Naturalism–the predominate worldview in our day–will continue to erode any and every institution once owing its existence and/or identity to what has been described as the Judeo-Christian worldview.

So what are we to do?  How should I then live?

The Apostle Paul provides my answer in 1 Corinthians 15–the text our pastor chose for his Sunday morning message.  Paul mentions some of the essential beliefs necessary for salvation (15:3,4).  Then he teaches us about the necessity of Christ’s resurrection as well as the fact that all believers will experience a similar, glorious resurrection (15:12-57).  Finally he concludes with the answer every Christian needs to hear on Easter.

“Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your toil is not in vain in the Lord” (15:58).

There’s my call to resurrection-motivated living!  In light of the truth of Christ’s resurrection, and light of the fact that I, too, will rise from the dead, I am to so faithfully believe that fruit follows.  I am called to ensure that I do not grow weary in good works (2 Thess. 3:13).  In other words, each Easter should be a recommitment in my life to spend my life glorifying God by blessing others.  Now that is something I need to hear!

I hope you had a great holiday.  Jesus’ rising from the dead is truly a historical fact worth remembering.  Now let us all live to His glory and the good of those around us.  Today.  Everyday.

Leave a Reply

