Journal Jargon – Part One

quill

I am a writer (thus the existence of this blog).  In the past, I regularly wrote my thoughts in a journal.  We recently located that box of journals in storage.

Very exciting!

Not really.  Most of the entries describe the day-to-day activities of our lives while we lived in Florida and in Nevada.  The majority of the thoughts are not profound.  However, some might be encouraging to you.  In that hope, I plan to include several in a series of blog entries I have so cleverly entitled “Journal Jargon.”

Blessings!

From Saturday, December 15, 2002

I’m tired. Another full week has come to a close. I wish I felt better. I’m having a physical problem which may or may not be related to my heart. I feel a strange event (for lack of a better word) in my chest and then experience sharp pain in my hip joints (for lack of a better description). I wish I knew what was going on. The problem is happening more and more frequently, and the pain is beginning to keep me awake at night. It is to such a point that I would make a lifestyle change should one become necessary. First, I believe I need to see a doctor. Hopefully I can get an appointment this next week. I do hope that the problem is not very serious. If it is, I know that I will continue to trust God. He is the Sovereign King of the universe. I am in God’s hands. He will do that which my heart desires most, namely, that which will most glorify His name. That’s all I truly want. I also know that my wife and children will be fine in Christ. God is enough. God is sufficient. God could and would bless each.

So–“Just in case” — I did want to communicate my complete trust in God. Let me also say that I continue to cling to the cross of Christ for my salvation. There is indeed life after death. There is a heaven and I will go there through The Way, The Truth and The Life–Jesus Christ. He is my Lord and Savior. He is my Beloved. He is my First Love. I can’t wait to see Him in all of His glory. If you are reading this after my death, know that I am finally, truly, living as I ought–in the tangible presence of Jesus Christ.

Don’t mourn my absence. I really wasn’t anyone special. No, I was pretty average. Instead, think about Jesus Christ and cling to Him as your Lord and Savior. Believe His words and His works. Recognize Him for Who He is and worship. To my wife and children and any other coming after me–live Christ. I have found dying to be gain. While you yet live, live Christ. Glorify Him. Fellowship with Him. Please Him.

May Jesus Christ be honored in my dying and in your living.

I do remain tired. I need to go to bed soon. Should God give me the strength, I have a full day scheduled on Sunday. May He be glorified in it.

Leave a Reply

