Mayor of Toronto: It’s time to grow up!

You’ve probably seen the news this week about the mayor of Toronto.  He had to apologize for not being truthful regarding an incident a year ago when he smoked crack cocaine.

Yes; he actually inhaled.

He stated that he “sincerely, sincerely, sincerely” was sorry about it, and that it would never “ever, ever, ever” happen again (I am simply, simply, simply repeating his repeated words)!

I loved his excuse.  It was during “one of my drunken stupors.”  That must be comforting to the citizens of the great city of Toronto!  Your undisciplined mayor admits to having drunken stupors. About a year ago, he also smoked crack.  Then he lied about it. I often why we are increasingly becoming cynical towards politicians.

He does not care what I have to say.  The Mayor does not know I even exist.  But if he did, my message would be simple, simple, simple:

It’s time to grow up!

Seriously; a certain level of maturity is expected out of a man.  When I was a teenager, I had “drunken stupors.”  During my high school years, I smoked pot and experimented with other substances.  But then something radically changed me.  The wind of the Holy Spirit sovereignly blew upon my spiritually dead bones and I was born anew (See John, chapter three and Ephesians, chapter two for how Jesus and Paul describe what I experienced).  I became a Christian.  My worldview of naturalism was replaced with Christian theism.  And, my actions and reactions began to change.  I began to bear fruit.  I began to grow up.  I began to act like a man.

Without a doubt, the Mayor of Toronto needs a supernatural work in his life. Yet, even atheists can transition from frat-life to adulthood.  Should the Lord choose not to redeem this man, my hope is that mature individuals in his life will be able to effectively communicate to him that the time has arrived for him to act his age.

I think the time has come for a lot of men to grow up.  Our world needs more men committed to glorifying God by making a difference in the lives of others.  I want to live that kind of a life.  I want my sons to follow in my footsteps.

Let us heed the words of Scripture:

“Be on the alert, stand firm in the faith, act like men, be strong.”
1 Corinthians 16:33; New American Standard

“Keep your eyes open, hold tight to your convictions, give it all you’ve got, be resolute”
1 Corinthians 16:33; The Message

Leave a Reply

