Dukes of Hazzard Religion?

You may  find the following Q&A interesting.  It is taken from a FoxNews.com interview with John Schneider–the blond brother on Dukes of Hazzard.  I’ll not offer a commentary on Schneider’s reply.  Instead, I will include what readers posted after reading the interview.  I’ve underlined the sentiments with which I resonate.  At face value, some may seem contradictory when–in fact–they compliment one another.

FOX411: You’re born again?

Schneider: Yup, it’s been a while since I’ve been to church, but you don’t get unborn again. It’s been so long I’d rather not go there. I make movies about people who kill each other justifiably, and Christians do not like me that much anymore because I drink whiskey and I believe that my relationship with God is between me and God, kind of a Johnny Cash thing. I’m not a Christian for your benefit. I’m a Christian for my benefit and how I walk my walk is my business, and how you walk your walk is your business. It’s kind of a box people put me in. I might have jumped in that box, I might have even built some of it around myself years ago. Things change. I don’t care who people marry or what people drink. I care that people are honest and they’re not trying to take something away from me that I’ve worked hard to give my kids.

Nicki Gostin interview with John Schneider, February 25, 2014 FoxNews.com

http://www.foxnews.com/entertainment/2014/02/25/qa-john-schneider-on-working-for-tyler-perry-dukes-god-and-his-dad/?intcmp=features

Post from Rationalista:

“I’m a Christian for my benefit and how I walk my walk is my business, and how you walk your walk is your business.”

He uses foul language, takes the Lord’s name in vain without any kind of remorse and claims to be “born again”…and not even one mention of the Person whom he claims to follow – the Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name and in your name drive out demons and in your name perform many miracles?’ Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. …”
Matthew 7

It’s not about getting “unborn again”, John – it’s about being truly authentically born again in the first place

From pizzaroyalty:

“I’m not a Christian for their benefit, I am a Christian for my benefit.” Right on! You’re not out there to impress the world…just God and your relationship with Him is your business. LOVE IT! Stay away from the religious John…they will choke the life out of you and heap chains on you that they themselves can’t even carry.

From GradyC:

If he is of Christ, Jesus will bring him where he needs to be, if not Jesus will say to him depart from me I never knew you. I was saved and departed for 40 years until He brought me back where I belong, All have sinned and falls short of the glory of God Romans 3:23. All of Christ are being sanctified until glorified. The question is did He become justified by accepting Jesus as Lord and is there change (repent). You can not work your way to heaven and God does not weigh good and bad. Only by the blood.

Leave a Reply

