Preacher, tell it like it is!

As we waited for some shakes at Sonic this afternoon, I heard a Southern gospel song you’ve probably heard already.  I love the sentiment in these words!

PREACHER, TELL ME LIKE IT IS

Preacher, I’d say its been a while since you heard this request,
But my spirit is tired, and I need rest.
I want to hear from heaven,  a clear word from God,
A sermon of conviction straight from the heart. I’ve been hearin’ other preachers say I don’t have to change,
The most eloquent of speakers tell me I’m okay,
But it hasn’t eased my conscience, and I know it’s not the truth,
So when you stand before us, can I count on you?

Oh preacher, you say you want to be my friend,
Don’t be afraid to call my sin what it is.
And preacher, tell me I can overcome,
But it’s only by the blood of the Lamb .
Don’t tell me like I wish it was,
Preacher, tell me like it is.

So open up the Word, and let the Spirit lead
Preach until I’ve heard God speak to me
Don’t worry ’bout my feelings; don’t worry ’bout my shame
Just preach the cross of Jesus and that I’m to blame.

Oh preacher, you say you want to be my friend,
Don’t be afraid to call my sin what it is.
And preacher, tell me I can overcome,
But it’s only by the blood of the Lamb .
Don’t tell me like I wish it was,
Preacher, tell me like it is.

Life is quickly passing; the world is fading fast,
And the foolishness of preaching is the only hope we have.

So preacher, you say you want to be my friend,
Don’t be afraid to call my sin what it is.
And preacher, tell me I can overcome,
But it’s only by the blood of the Lamb .
Don’t tell me like I wish it was,
Preacher, tell me like it is.

Indeed, preacher, please “tell me like it is”!  Preach the Word to me.  Don’t try to tickle my itching ears.  Don’t attempt to entertain me.  Live the truth and teach it to me.  I don’t need a joke at the beginning of every sermon.  I don’t need to feel better about myself when your sermon is complete.  What I desperately require is for you to wrestle with the text long before you step into the pulpit so that I might hear you preach “the whole counsel of God” with passion and compassion.  We all need this!  Our nation needs more men who bleed Bibline.*

Here’s a link to another blog with a video of the song:

http://christiansongoftheday.blogspot.com/2014/01/preacher-tell-me-like-it-is.html

*Charles Spurgeon once remarked about John Bunyan, “Why, this man is a living Bible! Prick him anywhere; his blood is Bibline, the very essence of the Bible flows from him. He cannot speak without quoting a text, for his very soul is full of the Word of God.”

 

Leave a Reply

