Five Long Weeks

Sorry for my absence!  It’s been five long weeks for me.

As most of you know, I am a manager at a local IT managed services firm.  That’s my day job. My part-time job is that of adjunct instructor for a couple of colleges.  I rarely teach for Bryan College, but Belhaven University tries to keep me busy.  And that they did!  I taught each Monday and Tuesday in downtown Chattanooga for the past five weeks.  And that about did me in!  Thankfully, Labor Day weekend hit on the second week of the schedule, but I still needed to take the day after the last class off as a vacation day to recoup.  I learned one truth through the experience.  I can’t agree to teach again back-to-back nights.  It’s too difficult on this old body, particularly since I need to be fully-engaged in my position during the day.  I need at least one day between classes from this point forward.

We live and we learn.

I like getting old.

Seriously–I am thankful I turn 50 in March.  I like maturity, partly because it has been so slow in coming for me.  I like perspective.  I am grateful for the realization that the greener grass elsewhere is simply a mirage.

I don’t have anything profound to say at the end of a long week.  I think I am still worn from the past five weeks.  I’m also tired from working outside today with a chainsaw.  I am ready for a good night of rest.  Hopefully I will write something worth your attention in the near future.  Tomorrow I will begin final grading for the two courses I just completed teaching.  I’ll be watching some football as well.  Part of the morning will be spent gathering with God’s people at church.  Looks to be a good day.

Thanks for stopping by the blog.  I hope you had a great month.  Blessings, Tim



Leave a comment