My Heart Goes On

Do you remember the theme song from the movie Titanic?

This blog has nothing to do with it.

Well, maybe the title does.  “My Heart Goes On.”  And, it does.  In a recent entry, I found myself being unexpectedly vulnerable.  In a round-a-bout manner, I admitted that spiritually I am neither where I once was nor where I want to be.

Rather, I am here:  Discontent in my contentment of malaise.  Yet I continue to fight.  I continue to believe.  And my prayer is that hope, followed by joy, might be the result.

Hope

It’s a small word, but such a huge necessity in life.  Sometimes–as we notice in Psalm 42–we have to remind ourselves to hope in God.  We are also taught in Scripture that our perseverance and the Word of God produces hope in us.  Paul put it this way:

“For whatever was written in earlier times was written for our instruction, so that through perseverance and the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope” (Rom. 15:4).

I am called to persevere and I am called to remain in the Word of God.

Yet, I am not to be prideful of my measly good works.  Anything good I actually do (persevering in the faith, continuing to read and meditate upon the Scriptures, watching and listening to sermons, attending church, etc.) are actually gifts from God.

Paul followed Romans 15:4 with Romans 15:5!

“Now may the God who gives perseverance and encouragement”

And a further reminder that these gifts do indeed come from God is located later in the chapter:

“Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit” (Rom. 15:13).

So–at the very foundational level–what must I do?  Remain in contact with God through whatever means are available to me.  He is the source of my spiritual life and He is the cure for my spiritual sickness.  He saved me.  He will sanctify me.  He began a good work in me.  He will complete it.

Didn’t I read above that God gives encouragement?!

That’s where I find myself today.  Encouraged.  God isn’t going anywhere and I am going to continue holding on to Him–even if some days it is by the fingertips of faith.  Thankfully, His grace refused to let me slip.

And I have the distinct impression that some of you can really relate to my current condition. Perhaps knowing you are not alone is just the comfort you needed today to keep your grip and God.  And hope.

 

Leave a Reply

