Knowledge can be Treasure

 

I’ve often heard that knowledge is power.  In many respects, that is indeed the case.  I am experiencing that on a day-to-day basis as I continue to learn more and more about computers, servers and networking.

But knowledge can also be treasure.

Not all knowledge is treasure.  For example, I have a lot of knowledge about baseball.  I can dialog with fellow baseball fans about which player is the greatest all-time per position and support my case.  However, knowing these facts is neither life-changing or particularly valuable.  The same cannot be said regarding my knowledge of Christ.

Lately I have been meditating upon one of my favorite chapters in the New Testament–2 Corinthians 4.  This is the passage where the Apostle Paul writes,

“But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, so that the surpassing greatness of the power will be of God and not from ourselves,” (2 Cor. 4:7; New American Standard, Updated).

Several questions are raised by this verse.  What are the “earthen vessels” mentioned by Paul?  What does the Apostle mean by “the surpassing greatness of the power”?  And, why is it important that it be evident that this power is from God “and not from ourselves”?

The first question begging to be answered, though, is: What “treasure”?  Surely the answer is related to a specific knowledge due to what I have written above.  In fact, I actually played my card.  Paul is indeed speaking of the knowledge of Christ.

“For God, who said, ‘Light shall shine out of darkness,’ is the One who has shone in our hearts to give the Light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ” (2 Cor. 4:6).

There is no better knowledge!  I would know.  I was once without it.  I grew up in a spiritual wasteland.  There wasn’t a single evangelical witness where I was raised in Wisconsin.  In the small town in which I lived, there was a Catholic and Lutheran church, but I did not know a single individual who believed enough to want to share that information.  I personally knew quite a few people who regularly attended services, but not a single one felt compelled to present the facts to me about my need for a savior and the provision of the Savior, Jesus Christ.  If they possessed the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ, they did not consider its worth.  They did not consider it a treasure.  That is usually an indication of an inauthentic experience with God; the knowing about God, not the knowing of God.

The knowledge of God in the face of Christ is only a truly a treasure when it produces both inward and outward change.  That’s why Paul mentioned “earthly vessels” (humanity) and “the surpassing greatness of the power” (the gospel at work within us).  And isn’t that when we actually recognize the fact that this knowledge is something valuable.  We learn the truth about Christ.  We believe the truth about Christ and then we begin to change from the inside out.  We starting looking like the Truth.  We start speaking the truth.  We share the knowledge.

That’s one of the reasons I created this blog.  It is an outlet for me to pass along my insights from life and–more importantly–God’s Word.   If you possess the knowledge of God in the face of Christ, what is your outlet?  How are you sharing the knowledge?  If you have come to the place of understanding today that you simply know about Christ, but do not know Christ, I commend to you the practice of prayer.  Talk with God.  Be honest. He is truth and He loves to reveal truth.

Leave a Reply

