Resting in our Trials

Several days ago, I listened to a sermon by Alistair Begg for my morning time in God’s Word.  It was within that context Begg shared the following words by Andrew Murray.  The subject was the trials we face in this life and how we should appropriately respond.   Murray wrote,

First, He brought me here. It is by His will I am in this strait place: in that fact I will rest.
Next, He will keep me here in His love, and give me grace to behave as His child.
Then, He will make the trial a blessing, teaching me the lessons He intends me to learn, and working in me the grace He means to bestow.
Last, in His good time He can bring me out again—how and when He knows.

Let me say I am here,
1) By God’s appointment;
2) In His keeping;
3) Under His training;
4) For His time.

Good stuff.  Godly resignation.

I am here by God’s appointment, in His keeping, under His training, for His time.

Don’t you think such a perspective would make your suffering more bearable?  Indeed it would!  His was an understanding of God’s sovereignty and care for His own. And that, beloved, is truth which can easily be found in the Scripture.  God is in complete control of His creation, including our lives.  But He is also caring–particularly towards His own children.  As Psalm 119:68 proclaims, “Thou art good and doest good” (KV).  I cannot express what an anchor this verse has been for me over the past ten years of my life.  On very dark days, I have often reminded myself that God is good and that God does good–all the time.  There is more to that verse, however.  It continues, “Teach me Thy statutes.”  The NIV renders the sentiment, “Teach me Your decrees.”  Here’s the idea:  Since we can trust the character and ways of God, we desire to know what He wants us to do. We have a heart to honor and obey.

Even in the midst of our difficulties.

You may be experiencing some genuine challenges in your life.  This may, in fact, be a period of trial for you.  Believe me when I say that I can relate.  It is my hope that Murray’s words above proved to be an encouragement to you and that the reminder than God can be trusted due to His inherent goodness motivates you today to obedience–regardless of the issues you are facing.

If I can pray for you in any way, please let me know.

Blessings, Tim

Leave a Reply

