Mark Richt is Resigned

MarkR

Please notice the wording above.  I did not write, “Mark Richt Resigned.”  He did resign as the head coach of the Georgia Bulldogs several days ago.  However, I have a different resignation in mind.  You’ll see what I mean as you read this excerpt from the press conference:

“Since 1986 I’ve always really tried to walk daily with the Lord and try to figure out what He really wants me to do, and I try to be really obedient to that. I was reading Matthew about a couple weeks ago, and when Christ, prior to before he got crucified, he was praying. And when he was praying he was sweating blood. And he said ‘Lord, take this cup from me. Please take this cup from me.’ He prayed that three times. Every time after he prayed that, he said ‘Not my will, Lord, but thy will be done.’ That’s kind of been my thoughts over the last couple of weeks, just ‘Lord, your will be done.’ Whatever your will is, that’s what I’ll do. I just don’t know what that looks like yet.”

Coach Richt resigned.  Coach Richt is resigned.  He is resigned to the will of God.

Did we expect anything less?

Later Richt added,

“The other thing is, as I’ve said before, I really want God’s will for me. I’m really at peace that it was part of his plan. I’m really just excited about what’s coming down the road, and I want to continue to try to be as obedient as I can be to the Lord, and I’ll see what he has in mind for Katharyn and I.  We’re both at peace. We’ve know we’ve both been blessed abundantly to be at the University of Georgia. Let’s face it. Fifteen years at a major institution, an SEC school, just to get the job to begin with is kind of a miracle. We’re thankful. We’re blessed.”

Is there any question in Mark’s mind regarding WHO is running the show?

NOPE!

Mark is resigned to the fact that God is sovereign.  He and Katharyn are resting that God is in control of their present as well as their future.

Can we do the same?

Absolutely!

If we worship the same God of Mark and Katharyn—the only true God—we can have a godly resignation as well.  And what a comfort it is to know that God is on the throne when the challenges of life head our direction.  We can rest and, hopefully, like the coach, desire for God’s will to be done in our lives.

Facing any particular difficulties presently?  Find yourself amidst a trial?  Trust the absolutely sovereign King of kings and Lord of lords!  You may not yet see any light at the end of the tunnel, but believe me when I say that Someone very bright is waiting there.  In fact, He’s also present in the dim light and during the blackest night.

May God bless you as you rest in this truth.

May God also bless Mark and Katharyn as they seek His will for the next season of their lives.

For the full text of the press conference, see:

https://www.dawgnation.com/football/team-news/read-the-full-transcript-from-mark-richts-press-conference

Leave a Reply

