Back to Work: The glory of the grind

I know I am in the minority.  Some people think I am downright strange.  But I would rather work than play.  Given the option of not having to work a single day in 2016 or work every day in 2016, I’d choose work.

See–you even think I am odd now!

Beloved, I know myself (at my age, I had better)!  Too much time on my hand gets me into too much trouble!  I become slothful.  This is why I am grateful that God created a passion for productivity within me.  Simply put, I have got to get things accomplished.  Ongoing and new tasks present themselves each and every day.  This makes life routine, but also allows us the opportunity to glorify God in our faithfulness.  I simply cannot imagine living an unproductive life by choice.  Some are forced into disability or unemployment.  I know what that is like, having been unemployed for 18 mos. several years ago.  With that experience behind me, you can understand why I thank God every day I drive to work.  I vividly recall those days of looking for a job and striving to be productive.  It was a difficult period for me.  Today was easier.

Today I went back to work after the New Year’s holiday.  It was my first day of work in 2016.  I didn’t change the world.  Nothing I did made a huge difference.  But I was faithful.  I started my day by making a list of everything I wanted to accomplish and I set about to do just that.  Hopefully my BOSS (Col. 3:23) and my earthly master (Col. 3:22) were pleased.  Hopefully my co-workers and clients were blessed.  However, as I left work tonight no one stood to applaud.  I did not receive high fives from the other members of the team.  When I arrived at home, I was not presented with an award.  I did what was expected.  Jodi and the kids expected me to go to work this morning and be productive.  God and the owner of our company expected the very same out of me.  They will all do so again on Tuesday.  And I am glad to oblige!

Tonight finds me grateful for so many things.  I am thankful for God’s saving work in my life and the desire He planted within me to glorify His name and bless others.  I am thankful for the passion for productivity He created with me.  I am thankful for the health He has given to me which allows me to work both a full-time job as well as a part-time one.  I am thankful for work.

And I am thankful that I get to go to work on Tuesday.

I suppose I am odd after all.

And I am not alone!
“Laziness may appear attractive, but work gives satisfaction.”
Anne Frank, The Diary of Anne Frank (www.forbes.com)

“Work keeps at bay three great evils: boredom, vice and need.”
Voltaire, Candide (www.forbes.com)

“There is joy in work. There is no happiness except in the realization that we have accomplished something.”
Henry Ford (www.brainyquote.c0m)

“It is the working man who is the happy man. It is the idle man who is the miserable man.”
Benjamin Franklin (www.brainyquote.com)

 

Leave a Reply

