My Anchors when sea billows roll

“As I looked,

thrones were placed,
    and the Ancient of Days took his seat;
his clothing was white as snow,
    and the hair of his head like pure wool;
his throne was fiery flames;
    its wheels were burning fire.
10 A stream of fire issued
    and came out from before him;
a thousand thousands served him,
    and ten thousand times ten thousand stood before him;
the court sat in judgment,
    and the books were opened.

11 “I looked then because of the sound of the great words that the horn was speaking. And as I looked, the beast was killed, and its body destroyed and given over to be burned with fire. 12 As for the rest of the beasts, their dominion was taken away, but their lives were prolonged for a season and a time.

13 “I saw in the night visions,

and behold, with the clouds of heaven
    there came one like a son of man,
and he came to the Ancient of Days
    and was presented before him.
14 And to him was given dominion
    and glory and a kingdom,
that all peoples, nations, and languages
    should serve him;
his dominion is an everlasting dominion,
    which shall not pass away,
and his kingdom one
    that shall not be destroyed.”

Daniel 7:9-14

I have two important anchors that keep me safe during the sea storms of life:  God’s promises and the truth about His character.

The seas of my emotions rock and roll like the external circumstances of my life but my anchors hold because God is immutable.  I change continuously, but God never does.  Consequently, God always remains faithful to His promises. Furthermore, God always acts consistent to His own character. In regards to His sovereignty, this means that God is always in control.  No matter what I experience or how discombobulated my life or our world appears to be, I rejoice in the truth that the Lord is good and does good (Psalm 119:68).  If you are a Christian, Romans 8:28 probably came to your mind already.  It is a wonderful promise for all of God’s people. Everything our omnipotent God does is for His great glory and our great good.  In other words, nothing just happens to me.  Chance and luck do not exist. Both pleasant and unpleasant events are filtered through the hands of the sovereign Potter.  Isn’t this why we are commanded to give thanks in all circumstances (1 Thessalonians 5:18)?  Since everything I am facing is from God and since everything is working together for my good, I am to thank Him.  He is doing exactly what I deeply desire for Him to do.  He is glorifying Himself and making me more glorious, continuing that good work He alone began (Phil. 1:6). Through the difficulties I am facing, and will face in the future, I am comforted to know that I am progressing from one degree of glory to another (2 Cor. 3:18).

Are you encouraged as you think about these biblical truths?  If you know God the Father through God the Son, these facts work wonders in your soul and fuel your faith for persevering during the dark and disturbing days when the  sea billows roll. They serve to keep your small boat from capsizing due to the impressive waves.

Last Sunday, our pastor reminded us of the greatness of God from the passage in Daniel quoted above.  Reread those verses and rejoice in the Ancient of Days.  Truly, Jesus  Christ is the King of kings and Lord of lords.  How thankful we are that theology penetrates our trenches!

Leave a Reply

