A hope, a prayer, for my sons

what-makes-a-man-a-man

“What makes a man a man? A friend of mine once asked. It’s the choices he makes. Not how he starts things, but how he finishes them.”

That’s the last line from the movie Hellboy.  Lest you become too concerned, please know that I did not actually watch the movie.  I happened to turn on a particular channel the other day as the movie was concluding. As a father of two boys, you can see why the quote grabbed my attention.

Decision-making.  Faithfulness.

I would love for my sons to become men who are known for making wise decisions and for finishing what they start.  I suppose that is the hope of every father.

This afternoon I hit the Dayton (TN) walk track for lunch.  As I often do, I pray as I exercise.  One of the things I prayed for today were my children.  I prayed for their salvation and for their maturation.  I prayed for me as their Dad.  I prayed for their Mom. I also prayed that I would finish well at my particular callings (Christian, Husband, Father, Friend, Worker).  I very much do not want to fizzle out as more and more of my hairs turn grey.  That concept has been on my mind as I will be mentioning the latter years of both David and Solomon tomorrow night when I teach a class on the Old Testament.  Both kings started well, but did not finish strong. David (Solomon, too) proved to be a poor
father (a bit hard to excel at fatherhood when you have over 20 children).  Solomon worshiped idols. Without a doubt, they did not finish
well. May that never be said of me.  May it never be said of my sons.  May we do the right things–even when they are hard.

what-makes-a-man

May God help us to these noble ends!

Leave a Reply

