Be alert, Tim! You have enemies!

bardiya_0825

bardianationalpark

The pictures above were taken in Bardia National Park located in western Nepal.  The area made the news in late December of last year when a herd of elephants that live in the park attacked a small nearby village, killing one person and injuring two.  The story peaked my interest (I love geography) and quick glance at Google images helped me to see that Bardia is teeming with wildlife, some quite dangerous.

The second photo illustrates what can happen when a deer allows herself to become too comfortable with her surroundings.  The shot above shows three other deer very much on the alert.

The concept of alertness is on my mind.  I need to be alert.  There is an enemy seeking my defeat from within (my flesh, the sin which remains)and from without (the evil one and his minions). One particular verse caught my attention several years ago.  1 Corinthians 16:14-15 reads,

13 Be on your guard; stand firm in the faith; be courageous; be strong. 14 Do everything in love.

Eugene Peterson renders these verses as follows:

13-14 Keep your eyes open, hold tight to your convictions, give it all you’ve got, be resolute, and love without stopping.

When I served in the Army, I was trained on how to perform guard duty.  I vividly remember guarding a building (with an empty M-16).  Thinking a drill instructor might try to sneak up on me, you know I kept my eyes open!  I wasn’t just on guard duty.  I was on my guard! Like the deer in the top picture above, I was ready for anything!  If that was how seriously I took that responsibility when I wasn’t in any real danger, how much more seriously should I be now that I find myself in the crosshairs?!

A good word for me today!  I hope you were encouraged as well!

Leave a Reply

