Finding Shelter in the Alpha Male

Our growing puppies were not impressed with a neighbor’s July 4th fireworks display.  After hearing two “BOOMS!” they wanted inside the house AND FAST.

Mocha, our timid and lanky mutt, recovered quiet nicely.  His older brother, however, not so much.  In fact, he was shaking like a leaf.  We did all we could to console him, but it wasn’t enough.  He specifically wanted to find shelter in the alpha male.  That’s me, by the way.  Here’s Lawrence:

As his funk continued, he gently laid down at my bedroom door (since I was in my bedroom taking a shower).  If he couldn’t be safe with me, he wanted to be as close as possible.  When I was finished, I opened the door and determined to let him know that all was well.

Eventually, he calmed down.  The world did not come to an end.  We are not actually being attacked by a pirate ship (or aliens or whatever a dog would envision…cats driving a tank?).  Life returned to normal.

As I reflected upon what transpired, I couldn’t help but wonder how I respond to the unexpected “BOOMS!” that come my way.  I know some of the foolish ways in which I have responded in the past.  I trust you can think of some of your less-than-godly reactions as well.

How should we respond?

Consider these words from Psalm 91:

He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High
Will abide in the shadow of the Almighty.
I will say to the Lord, “My refuge and my fortress,
My God, in whom I trust!”
For it is He who delivers you from the snare of the trapper
And from the deadly pestilence.
He will cover you with His pinions,
And under His wings you may seek refuge;
His faithfulness is a shield and bulwark.

How should we respond?  Run to God!  And, if we can’t get to Him, we need to get as close as possible!  Yes, I hear your objection!  Running isn’t required.  God is inside of us!  Indeed, He is.  Our triune God resides within His people through the Person of the Holy Spirit.  As a result, any movement on our part comes in the form of prayer and trust.  Don’t you see both of those activities mentioned in Psalm 91?  “I will say to the Lord…” is a direct address to God.  Trust is communicated in our “abiding in His shadow” and seeking refuge “under His wings.”  So, we’re talking with the Lord and we’re trusting that He is BIG enough to protect us and/or assist us in our time of need.

“BOOM!”

What will you do now?

Leave a Reply

