Behind the Dugout: “Just do your best, son”

He returned to the dugout dejected.  His eyes moistened and his lip began to quiver.  It was his second strikeout.  “I can’t make it to first base.”

Last night TJ’s team had a scrimmage game.  They lost 23-15.  Their first game is Monday night against the Rockhounds (5:30PM–Be there!)  “Just do your best, son,” was my reply to TJ’s emotional moment.  Thankfully, he pulled it together.  I’m a dad who understands that baseball is just a game.  If TJ does his best, I’m proud.  (I wish I sensed that in all the parents!)  When TJ went up to the plate for his final at bat, he was 0-5 with the two strikeouts.  Of the three ground balls that he hit, he reached 1st twice on errors and scored one run.  Then he hit a grounder to short and outran it!  A single!  Wait–there’s more!  There was a runner on third!  An RBI single!  What strikeouts?! 

Don’t you think that that is a picture of life?  Isn’t that what parenting is all about?  We should do our best.  We should challenge our children to do their best and be proud of them when they do so–even if their batting average is .167 (1-6). 

I wonder–is there a child in your life (kid, grandkid, nephew, niece) who needs to hear:  “Well done!” or “I’m proud of you!”  I’ll bet there is.



Leave a comment