I Wonder

While my youngest wasn’t feeling well last week, she chose to watch The Sound of Music. I kept overhearing the dialogue and songs long since seared into my heart. Do you recall the song Maria sang as she approached the Von Trapp estate for the first time? “I Have Confidence.”

It begins with these words:

What will this day be like?I wonderWhat will my future be?I wonder

Both would be filled with highs and lows, ups and downs. Her day. Her future. But she survived. And she was stronger from all the experiences.

What will my day be like? What will your future be?

I wonder. We wonder.

But I don’t worry. I hope you’re not anxious either. 

The words are so familiar. It’s almost hard to find a Christian who doesn’t have them memorized. However, it’s an admonition we all need to hear at the dawn of another year.

Prov 3:5-6

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
And do not lean on your own understanding.
I
n all your ways acknowledge Him,

And He will make your paths straight.

The concept of trusting God appears over 130 times in the Bible. 

Why? 

Because He is trustworthy! He is good. He does good. Psalm 119:68. Consequently, I have confidence in HIM! 

We’re now twelve days into 2024. We wonder. What does the rest of this month hold? We wonder. What will transpire throughout the year. But we don’t have to wonder. Is God good? We trust. With all our hearts. He is good. He does good. He is the Lord. 



One response to “I Wonder”

  1. Love this Tim! Thanks for the encouragement. “You are good and do good. Teach me your statutes.” 119:68 Amen.

Leave a comment