Quotes from Calvin: Post One

Most of you will not read this two-volume edition of Calvin’s Institutes of the Christian Religion. And that’s OK. I am rereading it for you! And here are some quotes I found particularly insightful. I’ll include my interaction IN CAPS.

“man is never sufficiently touched and affected by the awareness of his lowly state until he has compared himself with God’s majesty” (I.I.3).  THIS IS WHY I HAVE OFTEN ENCOURAGED PEOPLE TO READ R.C. SPROUL’S THE HOLINESS OF GOD BEFORE DIVING DEEPER INTO THEOLOGY. FOR US TO GRASP OUR DESPERATE NEED OF GOD, WE MUST UNDERSTAND GOD IN HIS GRANDEUR.

“God ever remains like Himself” (I.IV.3). A SIMPLE STATEMENT BUT SO TRUE. WE CHANGE. SOMETIMES OUR CHANGES ARE MORE NEGATIVE THAN POSITIVE. BUT GOD EVER REMAINS LIKE HIMSELF! WHAT AN ANCHOR THAT IS FOR US!

“Lest anyone, then, be excluded from access to happiness, He not only sowed in men’s minds that seed of religion of which we have spoken but revealed Himself and daily discloses Himself in the whole workmanship of the universe” (I.V.1). WHAT WILL GOD DO TODAY? HE WILL DISCLOSE HIMSELF. HOW? THROUGH HIS CREATION. LOOK AROUND YOU. CONSIDER THE BEAUTY. LOOK AT THE ORDER. YESTERDAY I WAS ABLE TO GET MY FIRST VIEW OF THE CUMBERLAND PLATEAU COVERED IN SNOW. THE LORD ALSO DISCLOSED HIMSELF THROUGH THE BEAUTY OF RELATIONSHIPS WHEN OUR PASTOR CALLED TO PRAY FOR US. 

“the human body shows itself to be a composition so ingenious that its Artificer is rightly judged a wonder-worker” (I.V.2). GOD CREATED MAN. IF THE BIBLE TEACHES ANYTHING, IT TEACHES THE MIRACULOUS CREATION OF MAN AND WOMAN. AND WHAT GOD CREATES, HE CREATES WELL! “AND IT WAS GOOD.”

“God, the Artificer of the universe, is made manifest to us in Scripture, and that we ought to think of Him is set forth there, lest we seek some uncertain deity by devious paths” (I.VI.1). FROM THE MOMENT OF MY SALVATION, I HAVE BEEN A LOVER OF GOD’S WORD. WHAT A GIFT! GOD IS MADE MANIFEST TO US! HE HAS REVEALED HIMSELF! I AM THANKFUL FOR THE BOOK OF  CREATION BUT MUCH MORE GRATEFUL HE HAS COMMUNICATED IN WORDS! STAYING CLOSE TO GOD’S WORD, SPENDING TIME IN IT DAILY, PROTECTS US FROM “DEVIOUS PATHS.” 

Too many quotes are overwhelming. Hope you found those to be helpful! I’ll keep reading!

 



Leave a comment