My Foggy Future

As we drove to school this morning, the fog in Dayton was rather thick.  For some reason, I immediately saw an illustration for this particular season of my life.  I commented to the children, “My future is foggy.”  My eldest replied, “This is like how we see things every day.”  She went on to remark that God sees all things–all times–with absolute clarity.

Don’t you love to see children with God-exalting theology?!

Don’t you think we undersell their ability to think deeply about God and His Word?  We settle for warm and fuzzy presentations of the gospel (“Don’t you want to ask Jesus into your heart so that you can go to heaven?”) and Sunday School lessons filled with challenges to live boldly like Daniel or walk on water like Peter.

Beloved, children within the framework of Christian families and churches need more than milk.  Milk is needed for the spiritually immature (1 Cor. 3:1,2).  The meat of the Word is for the maturing (Heb. 5:12).  Let’s not be afraid to dish it up to them!

All that was an excursus, a sanctified rabbit trail.  Simply put–training our children in the knowledge of God is a necessary component in their spiritual upbringing.

Now–to my main point.  This weekend finds me rejoicing in my good and sovereign God Who is in complete control of my future.  I may see the coming months and years as hazy, unclear.  God views my future with crystal clear vision.  In fact, He is already there, preparing my future for me and me for my future.  That brings me great comfort.

I have about two months left at RCA.  This five-year chapter is coming to a close.  What’s next?  What does the Lord have in store for me and my family?  Where will I find myself this summer?

I don’t know.

God knows.  I’m trusting Him; we’re trusting Him.  I’ve been studying the transfiguration this week.  After the mountaintop experience of seeing Jesus in His glory, Peter, James and John found themselves in the valley, being exhorted to walk by faith, not by sight (Mt. 17:14-23).  My mountaintop experience of taking a step of faith is now distant.  I need to walk by faith in the valley today.

Where does today find you?  On the mountain top?  Then, enjoy your experience of Jesus.  Or, are you in the valley?  Then walk by faith in future grace.  Believe that a good and sovereign God has the future in His hands.  He remains worthy of our trust.



Leave a comment